Ryan Moss – Videographer

Small PROJECTS?

Basically the name says it all, a short insight into any subject matter that may be of interest, fellow photographers, videographers, travellers, etc, people I have personally come in contact with or notable work that I have admired from a far, personal photo assignments, there is no set rules, agendas or alliances  – enjoy.

Introducing, Ryan Moss – Videographer.

A tireless worker in and out of the worker, I would get up at the crack of dawn in the Philippines and Ryan was already wide awake on his third coffee, editing, filming time lapses, getting ready for what the day may bring, surfers love to work with him – he gets a quality job done!

Name: Ryan Moss

Age: 28

Home Base: I currently reside in Dana Point California.

What do you do: I am currently hired by Reef Clothing/Footwear to manage their social media websites as well as create digital content for all their needs.

 Current Projects: Reef Imaginarium, Innersection (Nat Young, Tonino Benson), Icons of Aloha episodes.

Equipment: SPl Waterhousing for Canon 7D, Tokina Fisheye, Canon 100-400mm, Canon 7D, 50mm f1.8

Best Skill Set: My best skill set would be my punctuality. A lot of people who work in our field lack the ability to turnover their product in a timely manner, so my ability to deliver gives me a distinct edge. I also am willing to do whatever it takes to attain a A+ clip, whether it be taking a risk on a low success rate angle, or swimming in massive surf, it’s just exercising the ability to take the road less traveled.

What needs work if any: I need to learn how to trade stocks, to protect my future.

Links to some of your favourite videos: 

Demo Reel.

Shane Dorian Icons of Aloha

Volcom Presents: Coming of Ageless

Coming of Ageless – Chapter two

Reef Imaginarium

Dark side of the Lens – Mickey Smith

Companies worked for: Reef, Fox Head Inc., Red Bull, Kaenon Eyewear, DNA Energy Drinks, Smith Optics, Volcom, Surfline, Magicseaweed,  Surfer Magazine, Surfing Magazine, Transworld Surf, Volcom, Quicksilver, and a few other smaller companies.

Hows the future look for your trade: It looks only to be getting more over saturated with content and people providing that content. But, I don’t mind competition and evolving our trade in that manner. It only weeds out the people who are in it for the wrong reasons. There really is no fame or glory in what we do, so I constantly find myself laughing when people tell me how cool my job is and they want to do it to score chicks.

Best surfers you have worked with: Shane Dorian, Mick Fanning, Rob Machado, Sean Moody, Nat Young, Ian Walsh, Josh Mulcoy, Dusty Payne, Eric Geiselman, Gavin Beschen, Dane Reynolds, Benny B, Damien and Cj Hopgood, and Bede Durbidge. I have been pretty fortunate to have been able to work with so many different athletes.

Highlights: Reef Imaginarium trip to Tahiti, being in Tahiti this past year during that huge swell during the CT, P-Pass with Dusty, EG, Gavin, Taj, Wade, Jay Davis, and Mitch Parkinson. The Mexico trip with Mick, Dane, Shane, Benny B, Bottle, Fish, and Nutty. The waves that were ridden that trip were amazing.

 Any influences:  Dave Nelson, Ricky Lesser, Zak Noyle, Chris Straley, Russell Ord, Nathan Lawerence, Ryan Craig, Joe G.

 Where would you travel again to tomorrow:  Tahiti, hands down my new favorite place. I wouldn’t mind going back to P-Pass or Cloud 9 again. I also want to check out west Oz.

Plans for 2012:  Try and broaden my skill set as a filmmaker and work on maintaining my relationship with my girlfriend Laura Snyder. It’s easy to get caught up in all the hype and forget what is really important to you. I wouldn’t be the person I am right now without her support.

Website plug: Reef / SPL Water Housings

How do we hire or contact Ryan Moss: Well considering now I have a no competition clause in my contract unless you are an eye wear company I really can’t help you to much, but if you ever see me on the beach or in the water say hi, otherwise, you can get a hold of me at: m.l.d.video@gmail.com.

6 comments

  1. Pingback: Spencer Hornby – Photgrapher | Russell Ord Photography

  2. Pingback: LUKE THOMPSON – small Projects | Russell Ord Photography

Leave a Reply

